Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Dzeko headlines Bosnia-Herzegovina roster for USA friendly

The Manchester City striker will lead the line for the 14th-ranked team in the world when it faces Jurgen Klinsmann's USA on Aug. 14 in Sarajevo.
Jurgen Klinsmann's U.S. national team has won a team-record 11 games in a row, and in order for that streak to increase to 12, it will have to overcome a solid Bosnia-Herzegovina side in Sarajevo next Wednesday.

Manchester City striker Edin Dzeko, Stuttgart forward Vedad Ibisevic, Roma midfielder Miralem Pjanic and Stoke City goalkeeper Asmir Begovic headline the 20-man roster for the team that is currently ranked 14th in the world and will host the Americans at the Olympic Stadium for the first meeting between the two sides.

Bosnia-Herzegovina is unbeaten in UEFA World Cup qualifying, going 5-0-1 through six matches and sitting atop a group that includes Greece, Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia and Lichtenstein.

Overall, Bosnia-Herzegovina is unbeaten in nine straight games, with its last loss coming against Mexico in a friendly on May 31 at Chicago's Soldier Field -- the site of the USA's CONCACAF Gold Cup final triumph. Dzeko scored the Dragons' lone goal in the game, while Giovani Dos Santos opened the scoring and Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez scored the winner in second-half stoppage time for Mexico.

According to U.S. Soccer, Klinsmann is expected to release his roster for the match either Sunday or Monday.

Here is the Bosnia-Herzegovina roster in full:

GOALKEEPERS: Asmir Begovic (Stoke City), Asmir Avdukic (FK Borac Banja Luka), Jasmin Fejzic (VfR Aalen)

DEFENDERS: Ermin Bicakcic (Eintracht Braunschweig), Emir Spahic (Bayer Leverkusen), Toni Sunjic (FC Zorya Lugansk), Mensur Mujdza (SC Freiburg), Ervin Zukanovic (Genk)

MIDFIELDERS: Miralem Pjanic (AS Roma), Senad Lulic (Lazio), Sejad Salihovic (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Adnan Zahirovic (VfL Bocum), Elvir Rahimic (CSKA Moscow), Haris Medunjanin (Gazientepspor), Miroslav Stevanovic (Elche), Zvjezdan Misimovic (Guizhou Renhe), Avdija Vrsajevic (Hajduk Split)

FORWARDS: Edin Dzeko (Manchester City), Vedad Ibisevic (Stuttgart), Edin Visca (Istanbul BB)